Spaceflight Now: Space Station/STS-98

STS-98 Entry Timeline
COMPILED BY WILLIAM HARWOOD
Updated: February 19, 2001

The deorbit timeline on any space shuttle mission begins four hours before the rocket firing that drops the ship out of orbit. This is known as "TIG (time of ignition) minus four hours." The actual start of the deorbit timeline, however, can vary by several minutes depending on the crew's schedule. The start of deorbit operations as listed in the chart below may by out of synch with NASA's official timeline by a few minutes either way.

Change history:

12/18: Posting initial entry timeline
.
.
.
02/18: Updating with revised deorbit burn duration
02/18: Landing delayed to 2/19; updating with latest data from NASA
02/19: Updating with one-orbit waveoff; latest data
02/19: Updating with all 02/20 landing opportunities and data

RELOAD this page to make sure you have the latest data!

At a Glance
Mission 1: ISS-2R
Vehicle: Soyuz
Crew: Shepherd, Gidzenko and Krikalev
Launch date: Oct. 31, 2000
Launch time: 0753 GMT (2:53 a.m. EST)
Launch site: Baikonur Cosmodrome, Kazakhstan
Return vehicle: Shuttle Discovery (STS-102)
Landing date: Mid-March 2001
Landing site: Kennedy Space Center, Fla.

Mission 2: ISS-5A (STS-98)
Vehicle: Shuttle Atlantis
Crew: Cockrell, Polansky, Curbeam, Jones, Ivins
Launch date: Feb. 7, 2001
Launch time: 6:13 p.m. EST (2313 GMT)
Launch site: LC-39A, KSC
Landing date: Feb. 20, 2001
Landing time: 12:27 p.m. EST (1727 GMT)
Landing site: SLF, KSC

Baseball caps
NEW! The NASA "Meatball" logo appears on a series of stylish baseball caps available now from the Astronomy Now Store.
 U.S. STORE
 U.K. & WORLDWIDE STORE


INDEX | PLUS | NEWS ARCHIVE | LAUNCH SCHEDULE
ASTRONOMY NOW | STORE

ADVERTISE

© 2014 Spaceflight Now Inc.



INDEX | PLUS | NEWS ARCHIVE | LAUNCH SCHEDULE
ASTRONOMY NOW | STORE

ADVERTISE

© 2014 Spaceflight Now Inc.