Spaceflight Now Home





The Mission




Rocket: Falcon 9
Payload: Dragon (CRS 1)
Launch Date: Oct. 7, 2012
Launch Time: 8:35 p.m. EDT (0035 GMT on 8th)
ISS Grapple: Oct. 10, 2012 @ 1056 GMT
ISS Departure: Oct. 28, 2012 @ 1326 GMT
Splashdown: Oct. 28, 2012 @ 1920 GMT
Launch Site: SLC-40, Cape Canaveral, Florida
Landing Site: Pacific Ocean

Mission Status Center

Rendezvous diagram

Countdown timeline

Launch timeline

Dragon return manifest

Dragon launch manifest

Dragon background info

Falcon 9 background info

Falcon archive






Dragon return timeline
SPACEFLIGHT NOW
Posted: October 27, 2012

1155 GMT (7:55 a.m. EDT) Unberthing
The robotic arm removes the Dragon spacecraft from a berthing port on the space station's Harmony module.
1326 GMT (9:26 a.m. EDT) Release
After maneuvering the Dragon to a point between 30 feet and and 40 feet beneath the space station, the robot arm releases the spacecraft.
1329 GMT (9:27 a.m. EDT) Departure Burn 1
Dragon's thrusters fire for the first of three burns to depart the vicinity of the space station.
1329 GMT (9:29 a.m. EDT) Departure Burn 2
Dragon's thrusters fire for the second of three burns to depart the vicinity of the space station.
1336 GMT (9:36 a.m. EDT) Departure Burn 3
Dragon's thrusters fire for the third of three burns to depart the vicinity of the space station.
1422 GMT (10:22 a.m. EDT) Apogee Reduction Burn
Dragon's thrusters fire to reduce the altitude of the high point of the spacecraft's orbit to prepare for re-entry.
1423 GMT (10:23 a.m. EDT) Close GNC bay door
The door to Dragon's navigation bay will be closed and latched for re-entry.
1828 GMT (2:28 p.m. EDT) Begin Deorbit Burn
Dragon's Draco thrusters ignite for a nearly 10-minute deorbit burn to begin the journey back to Earth.
1841 GMT (2:41 p.m. EDT) Trunk Jettison
The unpressurized trunk section of the Dragon spacecraft separates. The trunk is designed to burn up on re-entry, while the pressurized capsule returns to Earth intact.
1911 GMT (3:11 p.m. EDT) Deploy Drogue Parachutes
Dual drogue parachutes deploy to stabilize the spacecraft at an altitude of 45,000 feet.
1912 GMT (3:12 p.m. EDT) Deploy Main Parachutes
Three 116-foot-diameter main parachutes deploy at an altitude of 10,000 feet to slow Dragon's descent to about 11 mph.
1920 GMT (3:20 p.m. EDT) Splashdown
Dragon splashes down in the Pacific Ocean west of Baja California.

Data source: NASA

STS-134 Patch

Free shipping to U.S. addresses!

The final planned flight of space shuttle Endeavour is symbolized in the official embroidered crew patch for STS-134. Available in our store!
 U.S. STORE
 WORLDWIDE STORE

Final Shuttle Mission Patch

Free shipping to U.S. addresses!

The crew emblem for the final space shuttle mission is now available in our store. Get this piece of history!
 U.S. STORE
 WORLDWIDE STORE

Apollo Collage
This beautiful one piece set features the Apollo program emblem surrounded by the individual mission logos.
 U.S. STORE

STS-133 Patch

Free shipping to U.S. addresses!

The final planned flight of space shuttle Discovery is symbolized in the official embroidered crew patch for STS-133. Available in our store!
 U.S. STORE
 WORLDWIDE STORE

Anniversary Shuttle Patch

Free shipping to U.S. addresses!

This embroidered patch commemorates the 30th anniversary of the Space Shuttle Program. The design features the space shuttle Columbia's historic maiden flight of April 12, 1981.
 U.S. STORE
 WORLDWIDE STORE

Mercury anniversary

Free shipping to U.S. addresses!


Celebrate the 50th anniversary of Alan Shephard's historic Mercury mission with this collectors' item, the official commemorative embroidered patch.
 U.S. STORE
 WORLDWIDE STORE
MISSION STATUS CENTER

INDEX | PLUS | NEWS ARCHIVE | LAUNCH SCHEDULE
ASTRONOMY NOW | STORE

ADVERTISE

© 2014 Spaceflight Now Inc.